School Board

Executive man

Board Vice-President - Mr. Gary Coleman

Gary Coleman was elected to the Bullock County Board of Education (Place 5) and began serving November 2016. 

Mr. Coleman has been in education for the past 12 years as a teacher, assistant principal, Education Specialist (Federal Programs), Technology Coordinator and an adjunct professor.

He attended and graduated from the Bullock County School System in 1999. He earned a Bachelors of Science Degree, Masters Degree and an Education Specialist Degree in Elementary Education from Alabama State University. He also holds a Second Masters in Instructional Leadership from Auburn University Montgomery.

"My concern is for the educational welfare of ALL children and restoring the legacy of educational excellence in Bullock County."


executive lady

Board Member - Dr. Scherrie B. Pickett

Dr. Scherrie Pickett is a native of Midway, Ala., and is currently employed with the Alabama State Department of Education.

She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Alabama A&M University in 1999. She continued her education at Tennessee State University where she obtained a Master of Science degree in Guidance and Counseling. She went on to earn an Education Specialist degree in Instructional Leadership from Tennessee Technological University and her doctorate in Educational Leadership, Policy, and Law from Alabama State University.

Dr. Pickett is a member of Narrow Lane Road Church of Christ in Montgomery, Ala., Life Member of the Alabama A&M Alumni Association, Bullock County Voters’ League, and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated--Omega Chi Omega Chapter.

She is happily married to Darryl O. Pickett and the bonus mother of Drew Pickett.
executive man

Board Member - Mr. LaDerrick Caldwell

LaDerrick D. Caldwell was elected to serve his first term for Place #3 on the Board, November 6, 2012. Mr. Caldwell is a resident of the Midway community, where he is a member of Person’s Chapel A.M.E Church.

Mr. Caldwell is currently employed at Southern Springs Healthcare & Rehab where he takes much pride in delivering first class healthcare to the citizen’s of Bullock County. Mr. Caldwell currently serves as Chairman of the Bullock County Development Authority & Board Member for Union Springs/Bullock County Recreation Board. Mr. Caldwell is also a Community Associate for the Black Belt Community Foundation & a member of the Bullock County Democratic Executive Committee.

Mr. Caldwell has offered himself to the youth of the community as a mentor, volunteer coach, sponsor & friend. He attended Merritt Elementary and is a 2002 Graduate of Bullock County High School. After high school, he attended Tuskegee University where, in 2008, he obtained his Master’s of Science in Occupational Therapy.

executive man

Board Member - Mr. Orlando Johnson

Orlando R. Johnson currently holds Place 1 and serves as the Vice-President on
the Bullock County Board of Education. Elected at the age of 23, Orlando became the youngest elected official in the history of Bullock County and the youngest to serve on its school board. He is a 2009 Honor Graduate of Bullock County High School.  In 2012,he graduated from Auburn University –Montgomery with a degree in Justice & Public Safety-Legal Studies. While at Auburn University- Montgomery, he became a member of Kappa Alpha Psi, Fraternity, Inc., served as the Freshman Senator and Chief of Staff of the Student Government Association and the Assistant Campus Activity Board Director.  

Strongly believing that an individual’s purpose is often found within their passion,  Orlando possesses a genuine love for people, especially the youth. In 2013, he started the Orlando R. Johnson Scholarship of Courage which has allowed him to fund scholarships to over 30 high school seniors. He is a 2018 Juris Doctorate Candidate at the Thomas Goode Jones School of Law in Montgomery, AL. Out of all his accomplishments in life the greatest was gaining an authentic relationship with God.

executive lady

Board President - Mrs. Alfreda Scott-Meeks

Contact List

Caldwell, LaDerrick
Board Member
Coleman, Gary
Vice President
Johnson, Orlando
Pickett, Scherrie
Board Member
Scott-Meeks, Alfreda
Board Member